New Books to Put on Your 2018 Reading List

“Read more” is one of those classic new year’s resolutions that is found on many people’s to-do lists, and we support that idea wholeheartedly! The benefits of reading can help shape you into a better, more empathetic and sharp-minded person. Today the Liv Avenida Blog has some book suggestions that are coming out this month that you can get started on in your apartment or at a library here in Chandler, AZ.

 

Love, Hate & Other Filters by Samira Ahmed

“A searing #OwnVoices coming-of-age debut in which an Indian-American Muslim teen confronts Islamophobia and a reality she can neither explain nor escape--perfect for fans of Angie Thomas, Jacqueline Woodson, and Adam Silvera.

 

“Maya Aziz is torn between futures: the one her parents expect for their good Indian daughter (i.e.; staying nearby in Chicago and being matched with a "suitable" Muslim boy), and the one where she goes to film school in New York City--and maybe, just maybe, kisses a guy she's only known from afar. There's the also the fun stuff, like laughing with her best friend Violet, making on-the-spot documentaries, sneaking away for private swimming lessons at a secret pond in the woods. But her world is shattered when a suicide bomber strikes in the American heartland; by chance, he shares Maya's last name. What happens to the one Muslim family in town when their community is suddenly consumed with hatred and fear?”

 

You’ll Miss Me When I’m Gone by Rachel Lynn Solomon

“When the results come in, one twin tests negative for Huntington’s. The other tests positive.

 

“These opposite outcomes push them farther apart as they wrestle with guilt, betrayal, and the unexpected thrill of first love. How can they repair their relationship, and is it even worth saving?

 

“From debut author Rachel Lynn Solomon comes a luminous, heartbreaking tale of life, death, and the fragile bond between sisters.”

 

The Forgotten Book by Mechthild Glaser

“A Jane Austen-inspired YA tale about a sixteen-year-old girl who finds a magical book—and discovers that anything she writes inside it comes true.”

 

What books are you most excited to read this year? Leave your recommendations with the rest of us in the comments! We hope you enjoy these and any other books you check out this year.